New Adventures in a New City

So it has begun. My new life in my new city. I started working this morning bright and early. After waking up at 5:00 I left my house by 6:10 to make the 50 minute commute to Rocky Mount. I was twenty five minutes early for the 7:30 start time but was glad I got an idea of how long it would take me to get to work in the mornings. The sun streamed directly in front of my windshield the entire ride but was a nice welcome beacon to new beginnings.

Lets rewind. Yesterday morning I packed up my car bright and early after a wonderful day with my family on Saturday. Left my house by 7:00 and made it to my apartment in just over six hours.

Image

(After a stop at my favorite Wawa in Virginia. Can you believe those gas prices??)

ImageMost of the roads I’ve encountered in Raleigh look something like this:

Image

Ran some errands, mainly shopping. Trader Joe’s in Raleigh apparently restocks EVERY SINGLE DAY. This is so foreign to me because my old TJ’s only restocks on Monday nights so you have to go on Tuesday to get really good stuff. (Kale). I made a pretty big deal about it and I’m pretty sure the employee I was discussing this with got a little uncomfortable with my enthusiasm. Came home and whipped up some de-fricken-licious veggie burgers.Served with half a red pepper that didn’t go in the burgers and about three sips of Shiraz.

ImageI chose only to take three sips of the wine because I decided instead I needed a run around my new complex at sunset. This town really is gorgeous. With a little instagram action.

Image

You’re In The South Now Veggie Burgers

Makes 4 burgers
Time 15 mins

1/2 cup cooked brown rice
1 can black beans
1/2 red pepper (eat the other half as a side)
2 stalks celery
1/4 cup pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
one crushed red pepper (about 1/4 tsp)
1 tsp cumin
salt and pepper
8-10 seaweed snacks (optional)

Mash half of the beans in a bowl with a fork. Sautee celery and red pepper in a skillet until softened. Add crushed red pepper. Mix veggies and the rest of beans into the mashed beans. Add rice, pepitas and cumin. Crush seaweed snacks into mixture and mix well. Add salt and pepper to taste (though if you use the seaweed you shouldn’t need salt).

Form into patties and fry on a skillet or bake in the oven (350F for 30 mins).

The seaweed in these vegan veggie burgers provides much needed iodine. Seaweed is the only vegan source of iodine so adding it to simple recipes assures sufficient iodine consumption.

I ate the leftovers as a salad today mixed with broccoli slaw and kale. It doesn’t have to be a burger! Enjoy!

Back to enjoying the City of Oaks…

Leave a Reply

